FG approves establisment of eight new universities


The Federal government has approved the establishment of eight new universities. Minister of State for Education, Anthony Onwuka, announced this today to state house corespondents after the Federal Executive Council meeting.

According to Onwuka, the newly approved universities include Anchor University Ayobo, Lagos; Arthur Jarvis Akpabuyo University Calabar, Cross River; Clifford University Owerinta, Abia;

Coal City University, Enugu; Crown Hill University Kwara; Dominican University Ibadan, Oyo; Kola Daisy University, Ibadan; and Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State. He said all the new universities were given three years provisional license and they are to be mentored by older universityies.

According to Onwuka, Anchor University will be mentored by the University of Lagos, Jarvis University by the University of Calabar, Clifford University by the University of Agriculture, Umudike, Coal city University by the University of Nigeria Nsukka; Legacy University by Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Crown Hill University by the University of Ilorin; while the two new universities in Oyo State, Kola Daisy and Dominican universities, will be mentored by the University of Ibadan.

751 total views, 4 views today

Check Also

Medical doctor who died while doing his youth service in the north is laid to rest

A medical doctor whose death shook everyone who knew him after he was killed in ...

Select your currency
USD United States (US) dollar