Obiano swears in 19 commissioners, 11 special advisers in Anambra

Obiano swears in 19 commissioners, 11 special advisers in Anambra

Anambra State Governor, Chief Willie Obiano of Anambra on Monday sworn in 19 commissioners and 11 Special Advisers as members of his new cabinet.

Obiano had sent a list of 19 commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

While congratulating the appointees for being found worthy to serve, the governor expressed confidence that they would deliver.

He, however, informed them that they would be appraised on 100 days basis, and warned that anyone who did not perform well within that period would be relieved of his position.

The commissioners are Dr Uju Nwogu, Ministry of Justice; Messrs Ifeatu Onejeme, Finance; Mark Okoye, Economic Planning and Budget, and Greg Obi, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

Others are Dr Joe Akabuike, Health; Messrs Obi Nwankwo, Public Utilities; Afam Mbanefo, Agriculture, and Prof Kate Omenugha, Basic Education.

Also sworn in were Mr. Don Adinuba, Information and Public Enlightenment; Mr Marcel Ifejiofor, Works; Nnamdi Onukwuba, Lands, and Mr Mike Okonkwo, Environment.

Mrs Chinelo Okechukwu, Solicitor-General of the state administered the oath of office and allegiance on the new commissioners at Government House, Awka.

Former commissioners and aides who were not retained in the new administration were issued certificates of meritorious service and decorated with medals of honour.

Close Menu